Interviews with LCF graduates- Cassey Gan

Interviews with LCF graduates Cassey Gan

Cassey Gan is one of the design graduates in London College of Fashion this year. Her graduation collection is all about the fact of children labor. “Perhaps we cannot prevent this world from being a world which children are tortured. But we can reduce the number of tortured children.” – Albert Camus. 

Cassey Gan take inspiration from what Albert Camus said, and did research from different children labor cases. Her collection aims to present the life of extremely privileged children. Cassey Gan developed a contrasting collection, showing both positive side and negative side of child labor.  The oversize shirt presents the work wear of child labor and the bamboo accessories present the immense Borden that child laborers carrying everyday. The candy-like colors presents the hope and joy of children, Cassey Gan wanna say everything can be possible if we are keeping our positive thinking. She hope the child like spirit and the innocence of children can influence others. Cassey Gan is really a justicial designer which doing designs to influence others life!

INTERVIEW WITH THE DESIGNER

G: Criminal Girl  C: Cassey Gan

G: You had a presentation of collection in your graduation show. Would you please tell me more about this collection? (the theme, silhouette or details of the collection)

C: This collection is inspired by child workers and children living in poverty. At the same time, I also want to contrast that with children living in wealthy conditions. Most of the garments in my collection are oversized and I have used a lot of shirt details in my collection because most of the visuals in my research are of child workers wearing oversized shirts. In this collection, I have particularly used bamboo as one of the key materials because it represents the weight these children has to carry from such a young age. I have also used candy-coloured camo prints to represent the joy and hope children should experience at a young age.

G: Will you use your design signature or terms to describe your new collection?

C: Usually, I am a minimalistic designer. But for this collection, I am adamant that I want to help bring awareness to the seriousness of child labour and children living in poverty. Hence, I have added some bolder, more unusual showpiece in this collection. However, if you look closely, underneath all that show pieces, there are extremely paired down shirts and trousers that have great attention to details and extremely wearable at the same time.

G: What is your muse for this collection?

C: I don’t really have a muse for this collection. Throughout the whole design process, I was just really inspired by children and their innocence.

G: What kind of make up/ accessories for your collection?

C: The accessories in my collection are mainly made from lots of bamboo pieces, painted into camo prints. As for the shoes, each one of them is different and extremely colourful to continue the joyful mood of the collection. As for make-up, it was nude and natural.

G: What new for you this season? Any colors or designs element recommended?

C: For me, this season, I am extremely excited to see a lot of colours in the LCF BA show. Personally, due to this economically difficult period, it is nice to see and feel the sense of hope through a good mix of bright colours.

G: How about your study in London College of Fashion? Any special culture? The environment? and why your choose this school?

C: I love studying in London College of Fashion (LCF). First of all, the course is really good in the sense that there is a great balance between technical teachings as well as freedom to design. The LCF culture is extremely down to earth and very warm. I always feel very inspired when I am in the college because I am constantly surrounded by extremely creative people. The tutors are absolutely amazing and extremely dedicated to the students. I had so much guidance from the tutors, especially in my final year, and I cannot thank them enough.

G:Why did you interested in fashion?

C: I love to create and I love to bring my dreams to life! I want to make good clothes for women!

G:What do you think about the new designers in London?

C: A great pool of talent and the competition is just getting stronger and stronger.

G: What will you prefer to be after the graduation? (About the Career Path/ will you start your own brand)?

C: I would like to ideally work in London for a couple of years before I start my own label in the future.

G: Where do you seek your inspiration?

C: I am inspired by my surroundings, the places I travel to and the stories I hear along the way. My inspirations has to move my heart before I can research into them further.

G: What is your favorite designer and why?

C: Stella McCartney, Jil Sander, Issey Miyake and Balenciaga are few of my favourite labels. Extremely innovative with great designs and often quite wearable clothes.

AFTER THE INTERVIEW – I think Cassey Gan is a dramatic designer , even she said she is a minimalistic designer  in the interview. She create a new terms of ” Reporting designer” in my point of view, it is a mixture of a reporter with a designer. Cassey Gan is very justice and her dream is very big. She makes designs to influence other, like a reporter , showing different unfair all over the world. As a designer, I can just say “Keep going Cassey, you will be one of the famous designer like most of your favorite designers, because you have a big goal and you did good designs!

More about Cassey Gan 

http://showtime.arts.ac.uk/CasseyGan

When Criminal Girl meets Cassey Gan

Leave a Reply

