“Dream” Fashion- Lulu Liu AW2012 Collection

“Dream” Fashion- Lulu Liu AW2012 Collection

I like Dali, I like Surrealism, that’s why I like Lulu Liu AW2012 Collection. It is a “Dream” collection. Lulu Liu is an up and coming designer based in London, graduated in London College of Fashion in 2011. Lulu developed professional career by Giles and established her own brand once graduated. Her brand Lulu Liu- create fashion in bold and confident style. Lulu allows the wearer to reflect their character in a unique way through Lulu Liu’s clothing. She likes luxury materials including cashmere and fur.

In AW2012 collection, Lulu inspired by Dalian landscape and clowns. She presented the sense of disconnected reality in her collection, make surrealism to be wearable. You can see the elements on the clown shirt collar in the collection, it is a kind of eye-catching and in different variation.

 

Interview with Lulu Liu

G: Criminal Girl,  L: Lulu Liu

G: Would you please tell me more about your latest collection?

Will you use your design signature or terms to describe your new collection?

L:  Lulu Liu is a new breed of fashion company. The brand combines the luxury and opulence of high-end fashion with dexterity and quality. This is reflected in the materials that are used.  Lulu Liu creates bespoke cutting edge garments that are not only show stopping and unique, but remain feminine and elegant. Key signature styles are over sized pleats mixed with long layers and vivid colours. The brand is bold and confident and allows the wearer to reflect this in an original way. Lulu Liu is run by London College of Fashion graduate Lu Liu. Previous collections have been shown in exhibitions at the V&A London, Future Map Exhibition, Vauxhall Fashion Scout 2012, Zipzone Paris showroom and a variety of fashion publications including Vogue, Elle and Cosmopolitan. They have also been worn by 2011 X-factor finalists.

 

G: What kind of make up/ accessories for your collection?

L:  Clean, fresh , confident make up is what I always like to use . and for the accessories I used fur shoes and fur cuffs also fur scarf

 

G: What new for you this season? Any colors or designs element recommended?

L: I will be lots bright fun prints going on this season . A lot of fun.

 

G: How about your study in London College of Fashion? Any special culture? The environment? and why your choose this school?

L:  I graduated in London College of fashion 2011, I love LCF and I learned so much in my course . I chose this school because my sister studied there and she knows a lot about this school and after doing lots research, I decide this is the uni I want to go.

 

G: Why did you interested in fashion?

L:  I have been always a huge fan of fashion since i was a kid . I start to make my own outfit when I was a kid and I loved it!

 

G: What do you think about the new designers in London?

L: New designer in London are very fun and original.

 

G: What is the target customers of your own brand?

L: young ,confident professional city girl.

 

G: What is the next project for you?

L: working on my next collection SS13.

 

G: Where do you seek your inspiration?

L:  You can find inspiration everywhere , anywhere. I don’t often due go to lib to find my inspiration anymore . i like do to different places and see different things.

 

G: What is your favorite designer and why?

L:  It has always been Alexander McQueen, He is an amazing designer and his style has always been so inspirational to me .

 

After the interview….

I really has the same taste as Lu Liu! Surrealism is my favorite art movement. Alexander Mcqueen also is my favorite designer! This is the reason that I feel warm and peace in her collection! Lu Liu did a good job using luxury material to do architectural things. I like the shirt collar of her collection and I really can feel Dali’s painting in her clothing. She is really a creator, or may be a surrealistic designer!

 

More about Lulu Liu:

Account in Not Just a Label: http://www.notjustalabel.com/lulu_liu

 

When Criminal Girl meets Lulu Liu

Leave a Reply

