The Lifetime Fashion- Vega Hernando

The Lifetime fashion Vega Hernando

I always asked “Where did you get the inspiration from?” in the interview of Fashion Criminals? Fashion Beings? . Normally most of the designers said the inspiration comes from daily life, like movie, traveling or music. To be honest, I really can’t get the inspiration through those outfits. However, I really saw electronic music in Vega Hernando’s FW 13 collection – 10kHz. 

Vega Hernando is a Barcelona based designer, and graduated in BAU in 2012. Her FW13 collection 10kHz mainly focus on showing the new sound conception of electronic music. Vega takes inspiration from Ferrucio Busonis “Sketches of a New Aesthetic of Music.” She wanted to do a fashion version based on this drawing, and she chosen electronic music as her theme. Electronic music is a unique music that can go through from 50s to the future generations, through a long and meticulous experimentation and a continuous hearing education. The collection aims to show this century characters of electronic music. By mixing synthesis, math emetics and new technologies. Finally, Vega presents a science coexist collection with graphics inspired. 

Photography:  Luís Araujo

Interview with Vega Hernando

G: Criminal Girl, V: Vega Hernando

G: Would you please tell me more about your latest collection?

V: It’s a Winter collection for men and women. It has been inspired by the beginnings of the electronic music of the 50’s and 50’s. Specifically it has been influenced by the intellectual pioneers that started experimenting with the synthesis and the mathematics music. I wanted to make coexist the rigid postwar silhouettes with graphics inspired on synthesizers and oscilloscope, create something retro and technologic at once.

G: Will you use your design signature or terms to describe your new collection?

V: I always start from a male tailored silhouette and I like to work with graphics   them, so I’d say that this collection defines my style properly.

G: What is your muse for this collection?

V: I don’t usually get inspired by muses but I do imagine specific kinds of people wearing the clothes I create instead. However, that happens in a quite abstract way. I can say that personalities such as Robert Moog, Stockhausen or Bernard Hermann have been inspiring for me, but I was not designing as if the clothes were for them.

G:  What kind of make up/ accessories for your collection?

V: I wanted something really masculine for this female collection so I decided to include platform Oxford shoes and, in order to add a “connoisseur” and futurist touch, I made them wear mirrored round sunglasses.

G: What new for you this season? Any colors or designs element recommended?

V: I don’t follow any particular fashion trends, really. When I design I prefer to follow my own way, but I strongly believe that the 90’s are stepping hard the upcoming season. Non-washed denim, metallic materials, garnets and purplish are all in. 

G: How about your study in BAU? Any special culture? The environment? and why your choose this school?

V: BAU is a small and very familiar school. A few different branches of design are taught and I consider very interesting to share the space and atmosphere with graphic and interior designers as all the classrooms lead the same corridor. I chose BAU because the study plan really caught my eye and now I realize that I took the right decision as I found very good teachers and colleagues there.

G: Why did you interested in fashion?

V: I have always been really in touch with Art since I was a child as my father is a graphic designer. Specifically, my interest for fashion arises when I was 16 and I took a summer course at Saint Martins, London. I got passionate by the creative process at the sketchbook and how you end up creating something that you can wear. Then I understood that fashion is the most discreet and functional way of enclosing inspiration and expression to the everyday life.

G: What do you think about the new designers in Spain?

V: I think there are good talents but a bad disclosure. Regrettably, notoriety in Spain is usually more related to the 20 year experienced brand than the 20-year-old talents

G: What is the target customers of your own brand –Vega Hernando?

V: For me it’s hard to define that as this collection was not thought for being for sale, but I like to think of a young and modern but mature and wise target.

G: Your design normally has a signature of creating between art and design, will you develop your brand as an art studio in the future?

V: In my opinion, Art & Design are complementary but completely different areas at the same time. Design is function, Art is feeling. I don¡t like to think of Art when I work. It always influences, but I’m not looking for that.

G: What is the next project for you?

V: By now I want to keep learning, work and collaborate with someone. I turn away my personal project in order to retake it later.

G: Where do you seek your inspiration?

V: I develop my ideas around images, texts and music that transmit sensations to me. That often happens through internet as it happens to most of my generation; but it can come from anywhere really. The idea of my latest collection came from a phrase of an early XX century essay about the invention of the Therein.

G: What is your favorite designer and why?

V: I love a few, but if I have to choose one of the big ones, I choose Miuccia Prada. I find it great how she breaks the rules and mixes very diverse styles. I love her conception of making fashion for the pleasure of fashion without any standard theories.

After the interview….

After interview with Vega, I really think that she will be a kind of pioneer in the fashion industry of Spain. In the conversation, She really likes to play around new elements and mixing old elements to be “new”. Yes, she is right. May be Spain didn’t has much disclosure of new talents, it just like the situation in Hong Kong. However, I can see the potential in Vega’s designs, if she has such a good skills and idea in her collection, she can really presents her latest collection in London or Paris fashion week, and I am quite looking forward of her designs. 

Vega Hernando’s  website

http://cargocollective.com/vegahernando/10kHz

Vega Hernando’s in NJAL

http://www.notjustalabel.com/vega_hernando

When Criminal Girl meets Vega Hernando’s FW13 collection – 10kHz

Leave a Reply

