Macaronic Femininity – Natalie Anna Moran

Macaronic Femininity – Natalie Anna Moran

Each of us have different interpretation of femininity, I can really see a kind of “Macaronic Femininity” in Natalie Anna Moran’s latest collection. The collection is very decorative! It just like a beautiful packaging of a set of Marconi, in a mood of happy and dramatic . Natalie Anna Moran is a London-based designer, graduated in Middlesex University and worked for Christopher Kane, Louise Gray, Keko Hainswheeler and Antipodium. Natalie always get inspiration from art and film, we can see the shadow of Niki De Saint Phalle’s assemblage work in her latest collection. She thinks that Niki De Saint Phalle’s art work presents the real femininity in her mind, and the patch work pattern in her collection presents Niki’s femininity in her way. I like the way Natalie using Tee and Denim in her collection. It just like a deconstruction of this two items with lovely print, embellishment and hand dye effect. For me, I really think that Natalie’s femininity is not luxurious or sexy side, it is a kind of sweet and funky femininity. 

 

Interview with Natalie Anne Moran

G: Criminal Girl , N: Natalie Anne Moran

 

G: Would you please tell me more about your latest collection?

N: AW12 was inspired by feminist artist Niki De Saint Phalle’s assemblage works; in particular her use of paint, color and college and thematically the exploration of female archetypes and cliched femininity.

G: Will you use your design signature or terms to describe your new collection?

N: Classic jeans, tees and basic shapes with embellishment and detailing. Design signatures… I always use applique/cutwork layering clashing fabrics, hand-dyeing techniques and lots of color.

 

G:  What is your muse for this collection?

N: Niki De Saint Phalle, not only for her artworks but her personal style too

 

G: What kind of make up/ accessories for your collection?

N: Make up for the lookbook was bare face/lips and smoky eyes. The accessories were also from my label, a giant multi-colored padded hatband/crown & drip dyed mini backpack, which I absolutely love.

 

G: What new for you this season? Any colors or designs element recommended?

N: My favorite color this season is slime green. Been recuperating from a broken ankle for the last 3 months, so have been doing a lot of drawing. Expect prints on simple shapes for SS13

G: How about your study in Middlesex university? Any special culture? The environment? and why your choose this school?

N: I knew I wanted to study in London, and Middlesex seemed to have a good balance of creative freedom and technical teaching. There were pros and cons. At the time I was there, the campus was still out in Cockfosters, in the woods, at the  very periphery of London.

 

G: Why did you interested in fashion?

N: It’s hard to say as it’s just what I’ve always been interested in. From when I was really young I loved ressing up and playing with clothes, watching The Clothes Show (90s fashion TV show) and styling my little sister for “photo shoots”, drawing and making things.

 

G: What do you think about the new designers in London?

N: London has the most exciting new designers in the world, in my opinion. People seem to take more risks & have more fun with fashion compared to other fashion capitals.

 

G: What is the target customers of your own brand?

N: Ladies with an irreverent attitude to fashion, who enjoy the art of dressing up

 

G: What is the next project for you?

N: My own online store at natalieannemoran.com is expanding, it’ll be stocking exclusive pieces; more accessories and T-shirts to come!

 

G: Where do you seek your inspiration?

N: Books, films, cartoons, galleries, nostalgia, Britain, my friends, my sisters.

 

G: What is your favorite designer and why?

N: All time favorite is the genius that was Franco Moschino. I loved his wit and use of embellishment.

 

After the interview

I know I used so much time to finish the reporting part of Natalie’s interview. This is because I through a lot of the presenting way of the illustration. I am totally agree of her macaronic femininity, but I always feel that Natalie want to show more in the collection. In her collection, I can see so much details in one piece, it is a good attitude that I can predict that I will be so surprise when I look closely to the real garment. I think that Natalie’s collection is a kind of art craft but presented in a fashionable way.  

 

More information of Natalie Anne Moran:

http://www.natalieannemoran.com/

http://www.notjustalabel.com/natalieannemoran

 

When Criminal Girl meets Natalie Anne Moran latest collection

Leave a Reply

