The Monster Inside…. – Josefinarnell

The Monster Inside…. – Josefinarnell 

Josefin’s designs are art or fashion design? I really can’t give a definition on it, I can just say her design is really interesting! Josefin Arnell based in Amsterdam. She graduated in Beckman College of Design in 2011. She is studying her master degree in “Dirty Art” in Sandberg Institute. She creates pieces/ designs to ease the connections with other dimension. She believes everyone has another face the face of monster. That’s why I define her designs as a bridge between philosophy and practical design.

Her collection from 2009 named as “Mirror Mirror on the Wall”. Everyone knows where this sentence come from. The whole collection describes what’s living behind mirror faces and bring out a statement “Nothing to Hide from”. It just like other Josefin’s design, it all about monster surrounding in our lives. 

2011 Superbody

 photos by Inka Lindergård and Niclas Holmström

2009 Mirror Mirror on the Wall 

Interview with Josefin Arnell

G: Criminal Girl J: Josefin Arnell

G: Would you please tell me more about your latest collection?

J: I don’t work in seasons. During 2012 I have been concentrating on my performance and sculpture practice. For ex I did a perfume together with my collective INFERNAL RUNNERS which is called Infernal Runners NO 1 “The Sun” which is a tribute to the sun.

But my latest collection was my graduation collection called SUPERBODY which investigates in how to release and highlight hidden forces in our human bodies. 

G: How about your study in Beckman College Of Design? Any special culture? The environment? and why your choose this school?

J: In Sweden there is two fashion schools. I chooses Beckman cos I thought it was the most creative one. Like most creative schools its competitive. Beckman is small, we had close contact with our teachers. It is perfect it you would like to enter the Swedish fashion scene without  any criticism or questioning. It was never my opinion so I struggled hard, but manage pretty good in the end I think.

G: Why did you interested in fashion?

J: I wanted to do something creative, fashion was concrete and exciting 

G: What do you think about the new designers in Sweden? 

J: Very talented but it’s too uptight.

G: What is the target customers of your own brand – Josefinarnell?

J: My intention is usually that I do clothes for the wearer then the viewer. So simply anyone who is curious about the universe. So far teens and menopausal women have bought my stuff.

G: Your design normally has a signature of creating between art and design, will you develop your brand Josefinarnell as an art studio in the future?

J: Yes I kind of already started.

G: What is the next project for you?

J: I have just started an Master degree at Sandberg institute (Gerrit Rietveld master department) in Amsterdam. My program is called dirty art department, which says quite a lot about how fun and confusing this will be. I m super excited, we are only 10 in our class, everyone from different backgrounds and nationalities. My practice for this 2 years will focus on how to Intertwine with Mother Earth and Space.

G: Where do you seek your inspiration?

J: I’m obsessed by my own body but otherwise anywhere.

G: What is your favorite designer and why?

J: My husband Alve Lagercrantz, he’s super talented and also very handsome. He will graduate from Central Saint Martins spring 2013

After the interview….

It’s really a cool talk with Josefin. It just like talking with a supernatural scholar, very funny and inspirational! Sometimes, I also believe that there is another me in the other earth, but the next question is “What will she be?” Will she being a monster? or she will just like the opposite me? It is a funny topic and it is so innovative that Josefin put all these questions in her designs. I hope that Josefin can keep playing art and design in her collections, it will show her unique signature using designs as the bridge of communicate to outside space. 

More about Josefin Arnell:

Offical website: http://www.josefinarnell.se/

In Not Just A Label: http://www.notjustalabel.com/josefinarnell?nid=43831

When Criminal Girl meets Josefin Arnell 

Leave a Reply

