The Hong Kong Young Fashion Designer Contest Finalist- Chan Kit Leung

The Hong Kong Young Fashion Designer Contest Finalist- Chan Kit Leung 

The final catwalk show of Hong Kong Young Fashion Designer Contest 2013 held on 15 Jan, being one of the audience in this show, I just shocked with the talent on finalists. Chan Kit Leung’s collection ” Blessing with Cupid” definitely is one of my favorite, may be a little bit like Balmain, but super delicate and structured!

 Chan Kit Leung graduated in Hong Kong Design Institute , and working as design assistant of Exception de Mixmind right now. 

 

main_50cfecbdac5a2

YDC 22_mh000

28_mh000

YDC 12_mh000

23_mh000

YDC 9_mh000

YDC 6_mh000

37_mh000

YDC 23_mh000

YDC Theme Board_mh000   YDC Mood Board_mh000  YDC Final 4_mh000

Interview with Chan Kit Leung 

G: Criminal Girl, C: Chan Kit Leung

G: Would you please tell me more about your collection in YDC? 

C: The collection is presenting the love and romance blessing from cupid and the combination of the Baroque art, the layering architecture and art decoration. By using the leather with the silk organza create the layering. I also used laser cut on leather to show Baroque sculpture patterns as cupid. By applying same technique on organza to show my own layering style.

 

G: What is your muse for this collection?

C: My muse is cupid as you can see it in my collection ‘Blessing from Cupid’. I wanted to present a romantic mood in my collection. Cupid is the son of the goddess Venus and  known as the god of desire, affection and erotic love. I think that cupid always use his bows and arrows to make couples fall in love and get marry in church. So, I start with this message. And, I found that church has some baroque decoration and pattern which inspired me.

 

G: What new for you this season? What kind of makeup/ accessories for your collection? Any colors or designs element recommended?

C: Pastel color is mainly use in the collection which inspired from the Cupid skin. Lavender is inspired from blessing and love of Cupid. I created a new print pattern matching with metallic rose gold trimmings as a high light on garments. I think pastel will keep on as a trend. 

 

G: Why did you interested in fashion?

C: I like beautiful thing. When I was in high school, I through about which path I want to take for my future career. I through about fashion design. We cannot live without fashion but we can choose the fashion style we like. 

 

G: What do you think about new designers in Hong Kong?

C: Hong Kong is not an easy situation for new designers. People focus on ‘making money’, not on creativity. Hong Kong has none good market for new designers to show their work. We also has bad environment such as high rent and brand-name slave. In the same time, there has some platform as YDC to show ourwork.I think young or new designer should join more competition to gain more experience and show people their talent. 

 

G: Is it a kind of challenge working as a freelance designer in Hong Kong?

C: Yes, it is because of the unstable income , and it hard for living which makes designer can’t focus on creating. Also, You need to be good at marketing to show your designs well.

 

G: Will you start your own brand in the future? 

C: I think I will try to start my brand in the future but I still don’t have a seriously planning yet. This is because I want to gain some experience for my further career.

 

G: If yes, who is your target customers ? Or your muse of your own brand?

C: I think I will focus on womenswear, the ladies’ will be aged between 25 and 35 with well education and afford with expensive clothing. They will like edgy, unique design and want to be different.

 

G: What is the next project for you?

C: Now, I am working in mainland as design assistant to train my paper pattern skill and plan for my further career. I may join some competitions at the same time.

 

G: Where do you seek your inspiration?

C: My inspiration mostly come from imagination combined with my life observation. Religious will be my inspiration even I still don’t have any.

 

G: What is your favorite designer and why?

C: My favorite designer is Alexander McQueen. I love his extremely creativity in clothing and his presentation in fashion show. His work is art and story telling.

 

When Criminal Girl meets Chan Kit Leung’s “Blessing with Cupid”

criminal girl meets house of YDC Chan Kit Leung

Leave a Reply

