Classical Renew – Cynthia Mak

Criminal Girl likes to explore new talented Hong Kong designer, it is good our fashion industry appear up and coming talented people : )

Cynthia Mak, is a Hong Kong born designer, studied in Central Saint Martin. Her strong graduation collection gained Vogue Italian listed her as “New Talented”. Her experience of working for Alexander Mcqueen, Vivienne Westwood and Preen by Thornton, makes her designer skills more mature. She returned to her home town Hong Kong, working for I.T. and Lane Crawford that makes her learn more about the local market. In 2014, her brand Cynthia Mak launched, and her Spring 15 collection really drawn Criminal Girl’s eye . 

sm01 sm03 sm04 sm06 sm05 sm08 sm10 sm11 sm15 sm17 sm19

Interview with Cynthia Mak 

G: Criminal Girl, C: Cynthia Mak

G: Would you please tell me more about your latest collection? 

C: SS15 collection is about the idea of bold basics. Using classic 50’s shapes and provoking patterns. Inspired by Mariana Palma’s pallette of contrasting textiles, exotic florals, and Baroque architecture. Challenges the tradition by laying timelessly bold stripes inspired by Daniel Buren and circles with floral embroideries to achieve a more contemporary style.

G: What is your muse for this collection?

C: I don’t have a specific muse in mind, I design for people who wants to find easy to wear pieces but at the same time, something bold and visually outstanding.

G: What new for you this season? What kind of new make up/ accessories for your latest collection?

C: Well, SS15 is actually my first season, so everything is new for me J

For the photo-shoot, we kept the make-up quite pale, we really love Gao Ying pale eyebrows so we try to emphasize it.

G: How about your study in Central Saint Martin? Any special culture? The environment? and why your choose this school?

C: I think the best thing about CSM, are the students. Among them, there are some really talented people and they are what really inspires me. They make me work harder so that I can be as good as them.

 Actually my original plan wasn’t to go to CSM. During High School I wanted to go to New York, however, CSM came to my high school for interviews and gave me an offer after. I guess I was a bit lazy, so I just took it. But thinking about it now, I am so glad that I actually went to London!

G: Why did you interested in fashion?

C: I actually knew nothing about Fashion before I went to London. I didn’t even know how to iron a shirt or sew a button. I am not one of those fashion designers that can tell you that I started making my own clothes and reading vogue at the age for 8. At high school, I was more interested in Graphic design, however once I got to CSM, I was so inspired by the fashion people around me, I start picking it up. It then gradually became part of my life and a passion that made me started my own label this year. 

G: What do you think about the new designers in Hong Kong?

C: I have been seeing more and more new designers in HK that is doing pretty good. I feel like there are slightly more retailers that are interested in buying into local brand. However, I still feel like to maintain a label in HK is very hard. Consequently, we need to create more awareness and extra support to HK designer.

G: What is the next project for you?

C: AW15. I will be collaborating with a knitwear designer in China and I am really looking forward to it. It will definitely be a fun project!

G: Where do you seek your inspiration?

C: Literally anywhere.

G: What is your favorite designer and why.?

C: I have many favorite designers, Nicolas Ghesquiere, Jack McCollough, Lazaro Hernandez, Phoebe Philo & Miuccia Prada. I love designers who can still create newness to each season.

 

More about Cynthia Mak

Official Website: http://www.cynthiamak.com/

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cynthia-MAK/339388952883541

 

When Criminal Girl meets Cynthia Mak:

Criminal Girl meets Cynthia Mak latest collection

One thought on “Classical Renew – Cynthia Mak

  1. Pingback: Classical Renew – Cynthia Mak | The blog of COOPER APPAREL. Find us at https://www.facebook.com/Coopertees

Leave a Reply

