Anti-Normcore – Salo Shayo

Anti-Normcore – Salo Shayo 

The SS15 collection of Salo Shayo is about making a statement on taking everyday, boring, normal elements, and making them special. It is a kind of deconstruction project, Salo Shayo used popcorn, chewed gum, cork and marshmallows are some funny elements to put into fashion. He used some of these elements to make some special texture for the collection, and matching them in a minimal style showing the original texture of normcore. 

CORK18 CORK05 CORK06 CORK03 CORK02 CORK01 CORK13 CORK12 CORK11 CORK10 CORK09 CORK07

campaña2014 campaña2014-2 campaña1 campaña+3

Interview with Salo Shayo 

G: Criminal Girl, S: Salo Shayo 

G: Would you please tell me more about your latest collection? 

S: I wanted to make an anti-normcore proposal; a way of taking elements that I find that are normcore, such as popcorn, chewed gum, cork, marshmallows, etc. and making a statement on taking everyday, boring, normal elements, and making them special.

G: What is your muse for this collection?

S: I don’t have a muse in particular for any collection. I try to make very unique and interesting pieces that a very unique and interesting woman can wear.

I love that my customer surprises me every day. Sometimes women that I would never imagine that would be attracted to my brand, love my garments. They are my muses.\

G: What new for you this season? What kind of new make up/ accessories for your latest collection? 

S: I really like to deliver a complete final concept with every collection I make. Every detail counts. I put a lot of thought in hair; make up, accessories, styling, and everything to get my mood and vision across.

For cork I was focused on bags and shoes, very minimal, clean, and functional, like the hair & make up.

G: Why did you interested in fashion?

S: When I was little, my father owned a sportswear factory, and every summer I worked there, organising buttons, zippers, and i got to see how a garment was developed, from the sketch to the final product. I loved the way that an idea and an inspiration could finish in a product.

G: What do you think about the new designers in Mexico?

S: I think there is a lot of talent emerging, not just in fashion, but in related areas such as art, furniture design, film, amongst others, but there is not enough support for experimental projects. I think new designers should risk more, and stop feeling scared to move to an international scheme.

G: What is the next project for you?

S: I am collaborating with contemporary artists for my spring collection; Also I will be presenting in Origin Passion & Beliefs Fair in Vicenza, Italy in May, and an extension of my accessories line.

G: Where do you seek your inspiration?

S: It may sound crazy, but I start by designing silhouettes, looking for prints, and elements that will conform the final garment, and in this process I discover many point in common with every element, and relate this with art, social issues, technology and somehow it all makes sense.

G: What is your favourite designer and why?

S: I have many of favourite designers, I get inspired a lot by emerging talent, form all around the world. But if I have to choose, an all time favourite is Marni, and a new designer Jacquemus.

When Criminal Girl meets Salo Shayo SS15 collection 

Criminal Girl meets Salo Shayo

Leave a Reply

