2016 graduate review – Zhenya Zhang

The funny pleating and good color mixture of Zhenya Zhang graduation collection really catch my eyes. Zhenya Zhang is a Canton based fashion student in London College of Fashion, and planning to study Master program after her BA degree course. The collection is about her family, about self-healing, she called this as a rebirth of 80s and 90s culture. For criminal girl, this kind of rebirth is not only exaggerated by silhouette, it is a mixture of neon light colours and 80s silhouette with contemporary clothing structure.

 

Interview with Zhenya Zhang

G: Criminal Girl , Z: Zhenya Zhang

G: Would you please tell me more about your latest collection?

Z: This collection is my final year major project, concept is about “Self-Healing”. The inspiration is from my personal story,talking about my views on the control of my family. Depression struggling from the beginning and end with the self-healing and liberation. it is a process of rebirth.Since I am talking about my parents ,so I decide to have background research based on 80s-90s Canton. My personal preference is combining the installation artists doing the same concept of my theme to start project design.For this collection,I hope people seeing what is “collage”,that’s my unit method of design and showing off the aesthetics and identity. For example,the jacket has different design of both sides, and the pleats of clothes is unbalanced .I love this form of visual impact, which can bring me more passion to design and development.

G: What is your muse for this collection?

Z: My muse are Jane Birkin and my mum.

G: What new for you this season? What kind of new make up/ accessories for your latest collection?

Z: This my first time use “Vintage” style to redesign. I use lots of real vintage clothes from 80s to deconstruction and reconstruction.Then I form them again to develop the new design. Theclean and fresh make up is a reference to my muse.

G: Why did you interested in fashion?

Z:  In my world, Fashion is not just fancy clothes and imagines. It contains a lot of theoretical philosophy and unknown area. As a completed series, it has to be abundance, combing with a lot of knowledge in all aspects.Through the process ,you can learn a lot in fashion. I love drawing out the potential of myself , I can not see through myself, so I like to see something exciting to read esoteric theory to find out the reason.Be true to yourself, it became fashionable.

G: What do you think about the new designers in London?

Z: They are all creatives and powerful.

G: What is the next project for you?

Z: My next project will build up my brand and I hope it will be published on the SS17 fashion week.

G: Where do you seek your inspiration?

Z: Books, magazines and gallerys. For me, gallery is the most important place that drives my inspiration.

G: What is your favorite designer and why?

Z: I love Phoebe Philo and Alessandro Michele. They both have a very good sense of fashion, Phoebe Philo has simple aesthetic, clean lines, style swatch tone is considered the peak of fashion.Alessandro Michele is just completely different style with Phoebe, he likes to find new ideas from old and vintage things.He must certainly has a rich vocabulary, visual memories, techniques and emotion libraries. Combining with his long-term accumulated explosive, I can see the madness under the regular luxury industry civilizations.

More information of Zhenya Zhang:

http://showtime.arts.ac.uk/zhenyazhang

 

When Criminal Girl likes Zhenya Zhang graduation collection

IMG_0058

Leave a Reply

